The State Department has announced that foreign nationals with valid F-1 or M-1 student visas will be exempted from the Presidential Proclamation barring the entry into the U.S. of most nonimmigrants traveling from certain parts of the world.

On January 25, 2021, President Biden signed a “Proclamation on the Suspension of Entry as Immigrants and Non-Immigrants of Certain Additional Persons Who Pose a Risk of Transmitting Coronavirus Disease.” Similar to the travel restrictions imposed by the Trump Administration, it bars the entry into the United States of certain noncitizens who, within the prior 14 days, have been in Brazil, the Schengen Area, the United Kingdom, Ireland and South Africa.

Akin to the Trump Administration proclamations, the January 25, 2021 proclamation exempts certain travelers from these restrictions, including persons whose entry “would be in the national interest, as determined by the Secretary of State, the Secretary of Homeland Security of their designees.”


Read More